Shoulder Pain, Shoulder Pain and More Shoulder Pain…

Standard

 

Went to my chiropractor today for my bi-weekly tune-up and I am not a happy camper. Ever since my right shoulder started hurting back around the beginning of May 2014, it hasn’t gone away since. Insurance issues have prevented me from pursuing a diagnosis but hopefully that will change soon because it’s getting worse again–in the beginning, it was really bad and I could barely move or use my arm, but after some time it sort of calmed down and stayed at a constant pain level. Anyway, I had my chiropractor, Kenna–who has been a real lifesaver–, work a bit more than usual on my shoulder. Good lord! did it hurt. If I hadn’t learned a long time ago not to cry when I was in pain, I would have been in tears. Now, I’ve got a deep ache in my shoulder that extends up into my neck on that side. Even my elbow is hurting! Kenna says the nature of my personal brand of fibromyalgia is roaming inflammation that makes the affected areas more susceptible to injury and strain. Go figure <eye roll>. The only thing that’s really helped is Sombra Warm Therapy Natural Pain Relieving Gel. (There’s also a cold version but cold is my trigger.) The active ingredients are camphor 3% and menthol 3%, and even I know that these are the two biggest analgesics in muscle creams. So obviously the gel really tingles a lot, which in and of itself is a distraction from the pain, but it also seems to penetrate enough to break the rise in pain I am experiencing for a little while. I’ll definitely be putting some on my shoulder and neck before bed tonight!

No matter how much I resent the pain that my chiropractic appointments temporarily give me, that’ll never make me say it was all for nought. My improvement since starting to see Kenna last summer is undeniable. As you know, I am far from knowledgeable about any of this medical stuff (hence the newbie blog), so I used to believe the rumors that chiropractic was a sham and did more harm than good. But at the prodding of my mother, who has a lot of experience and knowledge in that regard, I took a chance. And I haven’t looked back since!

Of course, chiropractic isn’t for everyone, but since my pain leads to repetitive muscle tension and guarding, my skeleton/joints is/are constantly pulled out of alignment, giving birth to a vicious cycle of muscle pain and stiffness and joint pain. The only way to “fix” that is to realign the skeleton and joints. Though this is only temporary due to muscle memory and constant pain, I have noticed a difference in how I feel between appointments versus how I felt before I started.

That’s my limited take on chiropractic so I promise to do some real research online and offline and compile my findings all into one post. In the meantime, please feel free to add your two cents (no cursing or slanderous language please or your comment will be deleted) or correct me 🙂

Leave a Reply

